Dirty Shirts and Undies are Blessings too…

Holy smokes, get me a double espresso, extra large coffee with a shot of vodka!! I want to do it all! I want to make perfect, visually appetizing, nutritional lunches that reflect all the colors of the rainbow, that my kids won’t trade for a bag of Teddy Grahams. I want to keep my house model-home clean, so when the neighbors pop in, I’m not mortified when they notice the “My Little Pony” undies were dropped and left in the middle of the kitchen (yes, that’s the path to the laundry room). I want my daughter to clean her room and I want my son to wear pjs to sleep in, not the clothes he went to school in. I want him to realize that wearing the same shirt you slept in and wore yesterday to school is gross, even if it’s turned inside out. Where did I go wrong??

I don’t want to work full-time crunching numbers like granola, to make a corporate entity millions, while they take away more flexibility and benefits. No more flex schedules. No more additional Paid Time Off after 25 years of service. No more work-at-home arrangements regardless of the Information Age we currently live in. Insurance premiums are rising, and raise percentages are not! Bonuses are minimal or obsolete regardless of how well the company overall did.

I want to write creative, engaging, inspiring blog posts that are beneficial to my readers. I want to inspire them to reach their goals. To accomplish their dreams. To be involved with their families for the fun stuff….not just the parenting stuff. Have a nerf war. Go hiking together. Go out for ice cream and just talk about last week. Have a family movie night… every week. Stop sweating the homework, the calories, carbs, bills, dust, laundry, undies on the floor, dirty-inside-out shirts.

But how, how, how do we do it all??  

Calm down, take a cleansing breath. Look around at the blessings in your life. Consider those unemployed, who would be happy to sweep the floor at any job. Those who are homeless and would love to have a dirty, dusty house with a laundry room full of dirty clothes. Or those parents who lost a child and would give anything to have one more fight over homework, dirty shirts, or dropped undies. We all have blessings to count. Strive for everything, attempt to do it all, but count your blessings too.

Leave a comment